Breakfast Croissant Pudding

Bread and Butter pudding is the ultimate dessert you can order when you frequent the culinary delights of Lahore, but what about the rest of us, less fortunate ones, who don’t have the luxury of delicious food in the comfort of exquisite interiors that are the gems of our city? I was thinking just that when I had a Phineas and Ferb (please watch) moment, and I knew what I was going to do that day.

cp

Behold, my breakfast version of one of Lahore’s favorite desserts, Croissant Pudding.

You can always up the sugar, but I think the real beauty of this is the subtle balance of the sweet custard that soaks the savory croissants, and it takes 5 minutes to put together, and about 15 to bake!

Here’s what you’ll need for Breakfast for two=)

2 croissants

1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk

3/4 cup milk

1 egg

1/4 t vanilla or vanilla sugar

Preheat your oven to 180 C. Lightly grease a dish big enough to hold 2 croissants with butter.

In a sauce pan bring the condensed milk and milk up to a boil. Break the croissants into big chunks and place them in the dish. Once the milk starts to boil turn off the heat and quickly whisk in the egg and vanilla. Make sure you’re quick or the egg will start to cook. If you want you can wait for the milk to cool down a little. Then just pour the custard over the croissants. let them soak up most of the mix, pressing down lightly with a fork. Then bake for 10-15 minutes, or till the tops are golden brown and crispy. Its like a delicious plate of baked french toast, but add a scoop of ice cream and some caramel and you got your self a bread and butter pudding!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Croissant Pudding

  1. I make a lot of bread pudding at home. We all love it. I’ll try it with croissants too. Can you please tell me how I can make caramel at home? I made toffee once by boiling condensed milk. Would that be a good topping for the pudding? I am planning on making the pudding for a big dinner at home, but it should have some sort of topping. What would you suggest? I would love to try it with caramel.

Leave a Reply

