Margherita Pizza

Hi guys! I think i’ve taken a long enough break, and it’s time to get back into the recipe groove!

Recently i’ve been craving american style Margherita pizza. Yes, it’s horrible. I don’t like the classic Italian version as much. Sue me.

There is no Pizza Hut here in little Ilmenau, or anywhere near by actually, so I usually make do with the thin crust, but that’s just not cutting it anymore. And there’s also no ready made sauce that hits the Ragu mark, so making it at home isn’t really an option. Or is it? Last week I was scrolling through my instagram feed, which consists of mostly food pictures, and one of my cousins had put up a picture of her and her daughter making pizza at home, with all home grown ingredients (not just homemade pizza, but with home grown ingredients. I feel useless!). So naturally I asked her for her sauce recipe, and sadly I didn’t have most of the ingredients on hand, but I had a few (plus the sun dried tomatoes I brought from Italy and never got around to using=D), so I thought i’d try making enough sauce for one pizza, and if it didn’t turn out good I wouldn’t feel guilty for wasting too many ingredients. To cut this story short, I liked what I tasted, so here it is, a very simple marinara-esque sauce that can be used for spaghetti or pizza.

IMG_7014

Ingredients for one cup of sauce:

2 large tomatoes, peeled and seeded*
1 sun dried tomato
2 cloves garlic
1 t sugar
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cayenne pepper
1/2 t dried oregano
1/2 t dried basil
1 T olive oil

*To peel and seed the tomatoes, just cut a plus sign on top of each tomato, cutting only about a centimeter deep. Then dip them in enough boiling water so they’re completely immersed. After about 30 seconds to 1 minute drain the hot water and pour in cold water and add some ice. After about 30 seconds to 1 minute you’ll see the skin start to peel away on it’s own. At that point drain the water, peel the skin off, then cut them in half and get rid of the seeds as well.

In a food processor puree the peeled and seeded tomatoes, garlic and sun dried tomato. In a sauce pan heat the olive oil and add the tomato puree. Simmer on a low flame till the sauce starts to bubble and reduce a little. Then add the sugar, salt, and dried herbs. If you have fresh herbs then use them, but I didn’t have any so I stuck with the dried leaves. After about 5 minutes the puree will start resembling a delicious tomato sauce and it will smell amazing!

You can use this with spaghetti and top it off with some shredded cheese, or just use it on a pizza, topped off with even more cheese=)

IMG_7017

Also, I don’t like chunks of tomato on my pizza, so I completely pureed the tomatoes. But if you like a chunky sauce hold off on over blending your tomatoes!

I also have a delicious pizza dough recipe which I will be posting in a few days, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

