Party Salads

Yes. I ate my heart out in lahore instead of posting recipes like I said I would. And yes, I miss it like crazy. The dinners, the cafe’s, the family, friends, and FOOD. That’s why I’ve taken it upon myself to make myself feel better with food. Who says you need to have a party to make party food? No one. So here are a couple of recipes that are great for a party, of course, and great just for you too.

Smokey Slaw

A lot of people don’t realize how easy it is to make cole slaw. I use 4 ingredients. That’s it. And it tastes delicious every time.

2 cups finely sliced cabbage

1 1/2 cups grated carrots

1/2 cup mayo

3-4 T bbq sauce

You literally mix everything together. This is the basic recipe. You can add walnuts, seasoning or raisins if you want, but the bbq sauce takes care of adding flavor.

Pasta Salad

This one is my favorite. I sometimes make it on it’s own and have it for lunch. It’s tastes fresh and you can add any vegetables you like.

1 cup uncooked pasta shells, boiled in salted water

1/2 cup cooked peas

1/2 cup chopped carrots

2 boiled potatoes, chopped

1/2 cup roasted peanuts

salt and black pepper to taste

1/2-3/4 cup mayo

1 t mustard

Cool the boiled pasta shells and potatoes. If you want the carrots to be soft add them to the potatoes when they’re almost done. I use frozen peas so I usually add the peas and carrots to the boiling water when there’s about 3-5 minutes left of coking time. In a large bowl mix the mayo and mustard. Then add the pasta and the vegetables. Mix and season to taste. Add the roasted peanuts just before serving. It’s actually better to sprinkle the peanuts on top. If the salad looks like it could use more mayo, add one T, or add some cream. Serve chilled. No one likes a warm pasta salad!

And that’s all there is to it.

Leave a Reply

