waffle waffle waffle

I just can’t say it enough, or eat enough of it. Waffles are my new love, and sadly pancakes have taken a back seat. I just got a waffle maker and the excitement hasn’t died down yet, so it’s been waffles everyday.

When I was looking up recipes for waffles I thought all of them were wrong. I mean, how in the world could so much baking powder be used. But then, as I poured the first round of batter all the way to the top and it started oozing out of edges seconds after I closed the lid, I realized that’s what the baking powder is for!! It makes them fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside!

But that’s just me, because my prior waffle experience has been frozen eggo waffles or cafe’s. I’m sure you waffle maker owners already know that, but if reading this post will make you go out a buy one (I say everyone should have one! ) then just keep in mind that a little batter goes a long way.

waffle

Here’s what you need to make about 6-8 waffles, depending on the size f your waffle maker:

1/3 cup melted butter

1 1/2 cups warm milk

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 t salt

4 t baking powder

2 T sugar

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl. In a measuring jug beat the eggs for 2 minutes, then gradually add the butter and milk. Add the flour mixture in 3 portions to the milk mixture. It’s easier to have the mix in something that it can be poured out of, but if you don’t have a measuring jug just mix everything a bowl and use a ladle.

Once they’re ready, usually it takes 2-3 minutes, devour them with butter and maple syrup!

You can add a lot of stuff in the batter as well. A few of my favorites are crushed walnuts, chocolate chips, blueberries and ground cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

