Light as a feather cheesecake

Image

Yup folks, it’s true. This cheesecake is as light as a feather, if not lighter. I’ve made about five different cheesecakes, and after making this one i’m never going back to any other! You can change up the add ons in this and make it into any flavor you want, but keep the basic recipe the same! I added chocolate chips to this one, because i’m very excited about the 10 pounds of TollHouse chocolate chips I brought back from my trip to Detroit!

But sadly, every time I use these chocolate chips, which will be for a while, the annoying experience of traveling haunts me! Ever since i’ve moved to Germany i’ve been traveling a lot, and every time I do, I get to experience the infamous ‘random’ special screening. It’s actually pretty amusing now, because i’m so used to it, and seeing everyone’s expression when they scan my passport and the light turns red is even more amusing! And considering I get stared at enough because I wear a head scarf, the beeping red lights and the half hour spent ruining my meticulously packed hand bag is just icing on the cake! But this time it was pretty hilarious because all I had in my hand bag were five huge bags of chocolate chips, a few cookbooks and a few bags of candy. Oh and also my camera, which was filled with pictures of food! You’d think they’d stop checking me now because all they find is chocolate and cookbooks, but noooo! They have to keep bugging me every time I walk through the metal detectors! Also, I almost forgot my phone there! Which would be horrible considering It has my life in it! And I wouldn’t be able to play angry birds or candy crush anymore! But all jokes aside, I’ve never lost my phone, but my parents have, and it’s such a pain losing all your contacts. And I have like a million notes and lists and recipes that I quickly jot down or take pictures of, so I would really be lost if I lost my phone. Lucky for me there’s a way to have my phone data backed up so even if I do lose my phone, I’ll still have all my data! I haven’t tried it yet, but i’m hearing great things about this upcoming app that a fellow BNUite is working on called AllSecure(https://www.facebook.com/allsecureme). Let’s hope I can get my hands on this! 

Ok enough of my airport rants! Let’s get back to this amazing cheesecake, whose recipe I adapted from the Mrs. Fields cookbook. There’s not a lot of ingredients, and even the baking time isn’t that bad. The only hard part is waiting for it be chilled through, which takes about three hours. 

Here’s what you’ll need for the crust and for the filling:

1 cup cookie crumbs

2 T cocoa powder (or you could just use chocolate cookies)

2 1/2 T softened butter

16 oz softened cream cheese

1 cup white sugar

2 cups sour cream

3 large eggs

1 T vanilla

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Image

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Crush the cookies, butter and cocoa powder in a food processor and press them into a greased 9×9 inch cheesecake pan. Just a quick tip for the crust: press the crumbs up the side first, then press the remaining into the base. Refrigerate till the filling is ready.  

Image

In a large bowl whip the cream cheese until it’s smooth, then mix in the sugar and sour cream. Since there’s a lot of sour cream in this, you can add up to 1/4 cup more sugar if you want it to be sweeter.

ImageImage

Next, add in the eggs, vanilla and 1 cup of the chocolate chips. Pour the filling into the crust and sprinkle over the remaining chocolate chips. Bake the cheesecake for 35 minutes and then turn off the oven but leave the cheesecake in so it can set. 

ImageImageImage

Once you turn the oven off, leave the cheesecake in until the oven has cooled down. At this point don’t take the cheesecake out of the pan. Just put it in your fridge for about four hours minimum. A whole day or over night would be much better! I made it in the morning and we ate it at night. And since this has no flour or added rising agent besides the eggs, it is extremely light and fluffy. It’s texture is a lot like a soufflé actually, and it’s delicious! 

ImageImageImage

4 thoughts on “Light as a feather cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Cheesecake | Piece of Cake

  2. Hi Fatima, i am in love with your recipes…

    In the recipe above can we use cram cheese spread or just the cream cheese? As i got confused over this in the grocery store.

    Keep sharing your passion for food!! 🙂

    • Thank you Anoop=) i haven’t tried using cream cheese spread so i’m not sure how it’ll turn out. But if you’re in pk try philadelphia cream cheese. It comes in a silver package. But if you can only find cream cheese spread you can try it! the results shouldn’t be too different!

  3. Thankyou Fatima!!!! Actually the cream cheese spread is way too salty….
    Will definetely look for Philadelphia Cream Cheese…

    Stay blessed and keep posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

